Gurney Journey

This is an inspiring and helpful art blog by the creator of Dinotopia, James Gurney.

http://gurneyjourney.blogspot.com

Jim has a big heart for his fans. I had a chance to meet him on two occasions while studying at the University of Hartford. Once two years ago he came to the university illustration studios and signed my copy of Dinotopia: Journey to Chandara with a tiny diplodocus and a kind message. The other time he and his companions looked around the campus art gallery which was at the time featuring two of his gorgeous (and surprisingly big!) paintings for his Dinotopia books in an illustration exhibition. Because I was working there, I had a conversation with them about a picture of Proserpine by Kinuko Y. Craft from her book Cupid and Psyche, which was also in the gallery.

As a side note, Cupid and Psyche is my favorite greek myth, and I highly recommend it to you. If you’ve got time after checking out Gurney Journey then pick up a copy of the book Mythology by Edith Hamilton. It has the myth in it told masterfully. It’s useful, well written, long praised, and contains many Greek myths and a handful of Norse ones, too.

2 Comments

Filed under Musing

2 responses to “Gurney Journey

  1. If you want to obtain a great deal from this piece of writing then you have to apply these methods to your
    won webpage.

    • I stopped writing in this blog a few years ago because my quest to become an illustrator fell through and I found my way into business. However I would be interested in hearing more about your thoughts if you still feel they concern my situation.

Leave a Reply

