Evening Shuffle

Midsummer evenings bring me a sense of serenity when I immerse myself in them alone. Generally I don’t have a problem with mosquitos. I’ve never been very tasty to them for whatever reason. I walked along the roadside this evening feeling interested by the glowing colors vibrating inside of peoples’ houses produced by their TV sets. A light in the evening is so drastically set apart in value from the rest of the world’s dimness, when only hours ago if that light were lit it would barely impact the sun filled space.

I’m reading a book that was recommended to me by Murray Tinkelman when I was in a class he taught on the history of Illustration.

Murray’s Website: http://www.tinkelmanstudio.com/

The book is called The Art Spirit, and is described on the title page as, “Notes, Articles, Fragments of Letters and Talks to Students, Bearing on the Concept and Technique of Picture Making, the Study of Art Generally, and on Appreciation.” All from the viewpoint of Robert Henri, a painter and teacher from the turn of the last century. It is the most important book I have read about art so far.

Henri says, “At noonday the landscape is just as fine, just as mysterious and just as significant as it is at twilight. By one with perception to grasp it there is as little seen of the unessential at noon as the obscurity of night can blot out from the casual observer. It is true that obscurity may assist selection, may at times force it.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Musing

Leave a Reply

